Year in Review, or Game of Twenty Thousand Questions

shia

This may turn out to be one of those trite blogs that bloggers typical blog about toward the end of the year, but I found a Fast Company article that inspired me to take a step back and evaluate 2015, to search for ways to improve.

And I think that’s important.

Besides, if I don’t take the time to think about individual events that happened this year, then what did happen this year? Did this year even happen?

Is there anything that makes 2015 stand out from any other year previous? If not, what’s the point in setting goals, acting on them, and learning from past mistakes?

If we don’t acknowledge the past, how can we differentiate between one year and the next?

What’s the point of time, in effect???

Brain Dump

OK. Chill pill. Let’s see, what happened this year?

  • Read some books. Mostly fiction, comic books, or memoirs. (See: Jonathan Lethem, Henry Miller, Ernest Hemingway, Louis C. Cargill, Paul Harding, Douglas Coupland, Tim Winton, Palahniuk, V.S. Pritchett, Christopher Howard, Terry Tempest Williams, Charlotte Hobson, etc.)
  • Became engaged approximately right before the trip to Florida about a week ago?
  • Learned Premiere. Easy peezy.
  • Learned After Effects. (Or erm, I’m tinkering to the point of making almost passable animated installation videos for KING… and publishing them on Youtube. Need to work on my audio editing skills, though.)
  • Learned how to set up a light box for adequate product photography.
  • Learned how to take some decent B-roll for short videos.
  • I'll just be right here, in this chair, if anyone needs me.
    I’ll just be right here, in this chair, if anyone needs me.

    Connected with the RVing, icefishing, camping, tailgating community via social media through KING.

  • Saw Silversun Pickups in concert.
  • Wrote a bunch of blogs, but not nearly enough.
  • Still learning how to dress myself for winter…

Obligatory Resolutions

  • Do more work: Think of ways to improve my office skills, like taking the time to think about what I should say instead of blurting out metaphorical inside jokes that wouldn’t make any sense to anyone but me. This includes learning to enunciate and cut down on the frequency with which I talk to myself, like consistently, at my desk… I have signed up for a Technical Writing course to improve my sales voice, with the goal of herding toward brevity and persuasive jargon about tech specs and whatnot. Here’s to hoping this helps!
  • 14b_0Work out more: While visiting my folks for Christmas this year, I kept asking my brother the same question every morning (definition of insanity, here) and that was, “Do you want some coffee?” One morning he simply said, “You should exercise right after you wake up instead of drinking coffee. It helps bring blood flow to the brain.” Duh. That’s my brother for you, touting his vast knowledge of scientific life lessons and stuff.  (P.S. I’m not laying off the coffee, I’ll just ease into it after a few push-ups, jumping jacks, and flutterkicks…)
  • Play the guitar: I’m not saying “learn to play guitar” here, because I’m not sure it’s something that can be taught. Well, you can learn the bars, scales, where the frets are, etc. but I think you just have to play in order to play. You know what I mean? You have to want to play, and no one can teach you that. And I WANT to play… I just need to start doing it. (Also, there’s this really cute guitar I’m thinking of buying this year… maybe.)

Thanks, Keith, for the myriad addictions I’ve accrued within these last few months with you…

  • Write a novel: This is kind of a big pill to swallow (and I truly suck at swallowing pills), but I have a few stories rattling around this echo chamber that I infrequently yet lovingly refer to as my brain, and I would like to be able to focus my attention toward a single plotline long enough to breathe 50,000 words worth of life into it. November’s NaNoWriMo (Thanks, Haeyoon, for introducing me.) pushed me to chunk out about 7,000 words for one story and I think I’m about at the same place with another that I started earlier this year, but it’s incredible to just write. I guess I can’t quite describe it–and most of my writing’s shite anyway–but bah. Comme çi, comme ça.
  • os-tribune-to-jack-kerouac-and-allen-ginsberg-coming-up-at-the-imperial-20150227
    I mean, that’s a sweet title. Nick Sellitto is kind of a genius.

    Host events: I’m thinking of riffing off of Modern Music Movement‘s theme and hosting a Henry Miller reading night. It would be a nice way to introduce friends to literature that they may or may not have considered delving into without a little nudge in the right direction, and there will be music, drinks, and all around awesome tomfoolery, so why not?

  • Learn to listen: Instead of talking over people, I need to just clear my head, look them in the eye, and be present. Seriously. I can learn a lot from people, I just need to try to be more respectful and receptive to what they have to teach me.
  • Give credit where credit is due
  • Sing more
  • Dance more
  • Bebe mas agua
  • Do the Raspberry Pi
  • Fix the car
  • Get new glasses
  • Etc.

shiaOk, maybe I’ve been reading too many blogs lately, and not nearly enough New York Times stories, but I want to improve my blogging skills (consistency, timeliness, connecting with others in the community, and embracing that overall “Just Do It” attitude) so bear with me, here. I’m just trying to come to terms with this year, and mentally prepare myself for 2016, instead of letting all the lumpy memories just pile upon each other like one great fleshy amalgamation of mush.

I encourage you to do the same! Take time to evaluate. Some of my resolutions may resemble a few of yours, but don’t be discouraged. What you do, what you want, what you dream makes you, well, you. I need to take my own advice here, but don’t compare yourself to others.

That’s all I have to say about that. Cheerio and see you next year!

Though everything’s online and just brewing into one stream of consciousness… there I go again.

Have something to say?

