John Wick 2 is a go

You can hardly believe he’s 50 years-old, when he executes fight choreography like a practiced martial artist. After the Matrix and 47 Ronin, Keanu Reeves has still got it going on, and he’ll continue to kick butt in the action-packed sequel for John Wick.

If you haven’t seen the first film, I highly recommend it. I paused it quite a few times and cried my heart out, no doubt, but the tragic violence is so beautifully crafted, that I couldn’t help but reminisce about certain scenes days after I watched John Wick.

John Wick made $14M at the box office and $43M total after release, surpassing Lionsgate’s budget of $20M. There’s no word as to the location of the set for the next film, and I hope it’s somewhere exotic, but that could easily require a small fortune.

I haven’t heard much talk of whether they retained the music director from the first film, but I hope he or she sticks around for the second one, as well. If you want to add the John Wick OST Spotify, here are a couple of tracks worthy of mention:

  • “In My Mind” by M86/Susie Q and
  • “The Red Circle” by Le Castle Vania is fun, too.

If you’re into movie soundtracks, I’d recommend Upstream Color, Broken Flowers, and The Double, too. Give them a listen and let me know what you think! In the meantime, check out this video that exemplifies the otherworldly discipline Keanu has over his own body.

via fairytalerp.com
Gun Kata from Equilibrium via fairytalerp.com

And did I mention how awesome the music is in John Wick? It’s like they’ve got Keanu on puppet strings and he’s dance shooting his way out of the club. I wonder if he and Christian Bale got together over brunch to talk about the mechanics of gunplay for Equilibrium. The truth is  stuntmen Chad Stahelski and David Leitch choreographed John Wick and they’ll be back for round two in the upcoming film.

Keep your ear to the ground for talk of John Wick 2. Here’s to hoping Lionsgate can produce it soon!

Have something to say?

